Walking the Amazon - Ed Stafford

Walking the Amazon

By Ed Stafford

  • Release Date: 2012-08-28
  • Genre: Specialty Travel
We rated this book with: 5/5 stars

4 Score: 4 (From 43 Ratings)
Walking the Amazon ☑

Walking the Amazon ♫

Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford read online book review&description

Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford epub

As seen on Discovery Channel and for readers of Cheryl Strayed's Wild, Bill Bryson, Jon Krakauer, and David Grann, a riveting, adventurous account of one man’s history-making journey along the entire length of the Amazon—and through the most bio-diverse habitat on Earth.  Fans of Turn Right at Machu Piccu will revel in Ed Stafford's extraordinary prose and lush descriptions. 

In April 2008, Ed Stafford set off to become the first man ever to walk the entire length of the Amazon. He started on the Pacific coast of Peru, crossed the Andes Mountain range to find the official source of the river. His journey lead on through parts of Colombia and right across Brazil; all while outwitting dangerous animals, machete wielding indigenous people as well as negotiating injuries, weather and his own fears and doubts. Yet, Stafford was undeterred. On his grueling 860-day, 4,000-plus mile journey, Stafford witnessed the devastation of deforestation firsthand, the pressure on tribes due to loss of habitats as well as nature in its true-raw form. Jaw-dropping from start to finish, Walking the Amazon is the unforgettable and gripping story of an unprecedented adventure.

Walking the Amazon  is also available in a Spanish edition entitled Caminado El Amazonas

tags: Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford read online; Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford epub; Walking the Amazon epub; Walking the Amazon by Ed Stafford eBOOK; best books to read; must read books; good books to read; recommended books to read; Walking the Amazon book review; Walking the Amazon read epub online; Walking the Amazon pdf; Walking the Amazon Audiobook; Ed Stafford; Specialty Travel books to read; Specialty Travel books.

More Reviews

  • Unbelievable

    1
    By Survivalist chick
    This should have been named "A narcissistic moron manages to survive a lame expedition against all odds". He then gives no credit to many of the people who helped him, failed to appreciate the very jungle he claims to love, has no understanding (and no apparent interest in) the local people and how they manage to survive in these remote communities. Still, go ahead and read it because it really is unbelievable how self-absorbed this guy is.
  • Most excellent adventure!

    5
    By Jeff Baurick
    Written with the brutal honesty of today's adventure novels. Unbelievable perseverance and stamina. If you want sugar coated and half truths read Anapurna. I'll take this any day!
  • Disappointing

    1
    By Eddie Merckx
    This is an incredibly lame book. It had potential, but turns out to concentrate more than anything on the author. He belittles and berates the people who tried to put up with him as traveling partners, and lays the blame on them for their leaving the adventure, which was really just the author's obsession. The author attempts to justify his obsession by saying that it was for the good of the rainforest and the indigenous people, but I'm at a loss to recognize how he and his trip benefited anything other than the author. I kept reading, hoping for something more, but it left me completely flat. A waste of time and money (the book, I mean; draw your own conclusions on the author's walk).

Comments are closed