Black-Eyed Susans - Julia Heaberlin

Black-Eyed Susans

By Julia Heaberlin

  • Release Date: 2015-08-11
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
We rated this book with: 5/5 stars

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 214 Ratings)
Black-Eyed Susans ☑

Black-Eyed Susans ♫

Black-Eyed Susans Julia Heaberlin read online book review&description

Black-Eyed Susans Julia Heaberlin epub

TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER • For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a  fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

This ebook edition contains a special preview of Julia Heaberlin’s Paper Ghosts.

Praise for Black-Eyed Susans

“A masterful thriller that shouldn’t be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . [Julia] Heaberlin’s work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn’t be: Flynn’s Gone Girl and now Heaberlin’s Black-Eyed Susans. Don’t miss it.”The Washington Post

“[A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising.”The Boston Globe

“A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended.”—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

“My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant.”—Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders

“Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin’s third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Brilliant . . . a breakout book.”Fort Worth Star-Telegram

tags: Black-Eyed Susans Julia Heaberlin read online; Black-Eyed Susans Julia Heaberlin epub; Black-Eyed Susans epub; Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin eBOOK; best books to read; must read books; good books to read; recommended books to read; Black-Eyed Susans book review; Black-Eyed Susans read epub online; Black-Eyed Susans pdf; Black-Eyed Susans Audiobook; Julia Heaberlin; Mysteries & Thrillers books to read; Mysteries & Thrillers books.

More Reviews

  • Outstanding; hard to put down

    5
    By Dr.Mrs.Afi
    I could not stop reading this book. It is so well-written, poetic. The sprinkles of suspense are amazing. And then the end!!! I woke up early in the morning to finish the last part of the book before work. This is a must-read!!!
  • Intriguing read.

    5
    By Funlovinggirl
    I finished this book in about 2 days. I enjoyed the book shifting from present day to the past quite often. That alone kept me intrigued and made me want to keep reading. The story line was great and the ending phenomenal! Loved the book.
  • Black Eyed Susan's

    5
    By Bamma342
    Wow! Really good read, enjoyed the characters.
  • You wont put it down

    5
    By Jlmroberson
    An absolutely wonderful book that is full of twists and turns! Loved it!
  • Black-Eyed Susans

    3
    By Donnie55r
    This is my first read by this author and I thoroughly love the book. Not real suspenseful, but an outcome that was predictable about one fourth the way through the book. Still, there were many secrets yet to be discovered until the end.
  • Great Story!

    5
    By MygiftsA&L
    This is a wonderful story full of twists and turns and one that kept me guessing until the end! I can't wait to read her other books!
  • Indifferent

    3
    By Linds40
    The author should have gone into more detail as to what actually happened to Tessie, she was incredibly vague. There should have been more insight into the killer's mind. Very slow moving, it was easy to put down for about the first 75% of the book.
  • Best read in while

    5
    By Mystery lover in Tx
    Couldn't put this one down. Read in a day. Never would have guessed the ending. Amazing read.
  • Amazing!

    5
    By MountaineerGadgetJunkie
    Must read. Best book I have read in a long long time. Kept me guessing until the end.
  • Not sure if I can finish

    1
    By It's me...SCMF
    So I'm about 200 pages into this and am having a very hard time. Really poor writing in my opinion. I keep trying to trust the other reviews to plod on. Going to try on a flight tomorrow, if it doesn't pick up from this horrible, boring slow pace I will chalk it up to a wasted $13. If I find it improves I will add to this review, if no updates ... Garbage.

Comments are closed